Goucher College Departmental Awards Announced

Goucher College Departmental Awards Announced

BALTIMORE, Md. – The Goucher College Athletic Department held its annual awards banquet and handed out several department awards on May 13 on campus.

Wren Wakeman from the equestrian team was awarded the Coaches Award, which is given annually to the senior athlete(s) who has (have) most completely represented Goucher College throughout their athletic career. Factors involved in the selection of the winner (s) include accomplishments in the sport or sports, including awards and honors garnered for athletics ability, and displayed leadership skills toward teammates.

Wakeman was a member of the equestrian team that competed in nationals during her sophomore campaign and she also finished fourth in the individual walk trot canter in her senior campaign at the IHSA National Championships on May 1. In addition, she is a three-year team captain, serves as a Residential Assistant, served as the student representative on the presidential search committee for Dr. Jose Bowen and was also the student representative for the Middle States accreditation.

Samantha Klock garnered the Neumann Award, which is presented annually since 1973 to the well-rounded student-athlete who, through his/her character, loyalty, and dedication, has evolved into an effective leader, outstanding citizen and distinguished athlete. The members of the Department take great pride in honoring the student who has shown, through example, the principles that Bill Neumann, a former chair of the History Department at Goucher, believed in.

Klock was a four-year letterwinner on the Gopher field hockey team. She appeared in 47 games including 23 starts and posted a goal in her freshman year and an assist as a junior. She started all 15 games as a senior and made multiple defensive saves to help the team to an 8-7 record. Off the field, she was a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and was a key part of the National Women's And Girl's In Sports Day in February. Klock also won the Scholar of Distinction from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

Theresa Antkowiak-Tassone from women's soccer and Eli Gang from men's swimming were presented the Josephine E. Fiske Gopher Pride Award, which was established in 1986 and is presented annually to one male and one female student in good academic standing who play important roles in the success of their teams. Variables to be weighed in determining the recipients of this award include, but are not limited to: sportsmanship, citizenship, positive attitude, leadership and service to young adults or children.

Antkowiak-Tassone was a four-year letterwinner on the women's soccer team, who appeared in 64 matches including 55 starts while tallying 12 goals and five assists for 29 points in her career. The senior had four game-winners in her career and scored a career-high four goals in both her freshman and junior campaigns.. As a senior, she posted two goals for four points while starting all 16 games. Head coach Stephanie Ricketts described her as the epitome of a leader by example and gives her all at practice and games while mentoring other players on the team and volunteers for all community service events through the soccer team.

Gang was a four-year lettewinner for the swimming program and has competed in the Landmark Conference Championships for four years in the freestyle events including the longer races. He also teaches lessons to the children of the community and serves as a lifeguard at the pool. The senior co-captain also was able to assist someone in a time of need to help save someone's life.

Gracie LeFevre, a member of the women's soccer team, was named the winner of the Scholar-Athlete Award, which is presented annually since 1923 to a member of the junior class who has maintained high standards of academic achievement and consistently demonstrated varied and admirable participation in athletics and extra-curricular activities. In choosing a recipient, coaches and staff will give weight to qualities in the following manner: 70 percent academic background; 20 percent athletic achievement; 10 percent extra-curricular experience.

LeFevre has appeared in 45 games including 21 starts with four goals and two assists for 10 points. In her junior year, she started all 16 contests and registered three goals for six points to earn a spot on the All-Landmark Conference second team and the NCAA Division III Women's Scholar All-South second team. Named to the Landmark Conference Academic Honor Roll twice, she boasts a 3.72 grade-point average in economics and French.

Shannon Stull from the women's lacrosse team and Elliot Diehl from the men's tennis team were selected for the Ruth Baird Thompson '31 Award, which was established in 2002 and presented annually to one or more students who have demonstrated academic excellence and sportsmanship in an athletic endeavor, through their participation in Goucher's sports, dance and/or equestrian programs.

Stull had a milestone junior campaign after posting her 100 career point against Gwynedd Mercy on March 16 and then her 100 career goal one week later against Moravian before collecting her 100 career draw control against Susquehanna on April 13. The junior posted 52 goals and 13 assists for 65 points in 2019 and was named the Landmark Conference Player of the Week for the second time in her career. A 2018 All-Landmark Conference second-team selection, Stull will go into her final campaign with 116 goals and 13 assists for 130 points.

Diehl (along with teammate Josiah Meekins) will go down as the first four-time Landmark Conference champion at Goucher after helping the team to an unprecedented four-straight conference titles and trips to the NCAA Division III Championship. Diehl, who finished his career 45-26 in singles and 57-28 record in tandem play, won his final singles match 6-1, 6-0 to clinch a 5-0 victory against Susquehanna University in the Landmark Conference semifinals on April 30. 

The Goucher women's tennis team earned the Robert Leward GPA Award, which is presented to the team that holds the highest grade-point average for the previous 12 months. The women's tennis team boasted a 3.58 GPA to earn the honor for the third-straight year. The Gophers women's tennis team had all eight players on their roster eligible for the Landmark Conference Academic Honor Roll named to the team: Meera Balasubramanian, Ali Gorson-Morrow, Morgan Hartman, Sara Healy, Kyoko Kinoshita, Katie Marzerka, Mandile Mpofu , Ali Tomasevich.

Digging In The Colony: Issue 5
February 26, 2019 Digging In The Colony: Issue 5
Digging In The Colony: Issue 4
February 19, 2019 Digging In The Colony: Issue 4
Digging In The Colony: Issue 3
February 12, 2019 Digging In The Colony: Issue 3