Goucher Field Hockey Places 11 Student-Athletes On The 2019 Zags Field Hockey/NFHCA National Academic Squad

Goucher Field Hockey Places 11 Student-Athletes On The 2019 Zags Field Hockey/NFHCA National Academic Squad

BALTIMORE, Md. – Alexyss Pawlak (Huntington Beach, Calif./Edison) has been named to the Zags Field Hockey/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) National Academic Squad for the fourth-straight year and is joined on the squad by 10 of her Goucher College field hockey teammates.

"I am so proud of these 11! They continue to demonstrate excellence on and off the field," said head coach Stacey Eversley. "Alexyss was able to juggle field hockey, school and an internship last fall and for her to be on the National Academic Squad all four years is a great accomplishment."

Juniors Caroline Doll (York, Pa./Dallastown Area) and Ari Hooper (San Diego, Calif./Poway) have been named to the team in each of their first three seasons while sophomores Devin Brashear (Escondido, Calif./San Pasqual), Jaime Roche (Baltimore, Md./Eastern Technical), Emily Postlethwait (Herndon, Va./Herndon), Hannah Washburn (Pittsford, N.Y./Pittsford Mendon) and Mia Wiggins (San Diego, Calif./University City) have earned the honor in their first two campaigns.

Junior Mickey Nelson (Frederick, Md./Urbana) received the recognition for the second-straight year while senior Madi Resolme (San Diego, Calif./Del Notre) and freshman Amita Chatterjee (Silver Spring, Md./Wheaton) joined the squad for the first time in 2020.

Pawlak becomes the 14th Gopher to earn a spot on the NFHCA Division III National Squad all four years dating back to 2004, joining Elizabeth Barminski, Shannara Bauer, Marissa Copan, Olivia Dickert, Danielle Hallacker, Lindsay Jones, Samantha Klock, Collette Newcombe, Justine Ruhlin, Kristen Shlanko, Elizabeth Weiner, Celia Welch and Elizabeth Zengel as four-year honorees.

Goucher has placed 11 players on the squad for the third-straight season. The Gophers posted a team-high 15 players on the team in 2015 and have registered a player on the team 161 since 2004.

The Division III National Academic Squad program honors student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the 2019-2020 academic year. 

This year, 1,943 student-athletes from 157 Division III institutions earned recognition on the 2019 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad.