Goucher Athletics Announces Sophomore Performance Of The Year Winner

Goucher Athletics Announces Sophomore Performance Of The Year Winner

BALTIMORE, Md. – Cam Isaacs (Randallstown, Md./Randallstown), a member of the Goucher College men's basketball team, has been awarded the Sophomore Performance of the Year after winning Goucher Athletics popular vote through the website, Facebook and Twitter.

Isaacs won both the website and social media vote to register 26.4 percent of the vote and win by a margin of 15.6 percent.

Isaacs was nominated for his career night in his final home game of the season. Isaacs game against Catholic started out with six points in the first half and then a 21-point final 20 minutes gave the sophomore a career-high 27 points in an 86-70 win against Catholic on February 20. In the second half, Isaacs gave the Gophers the lead for good on two free throws with 11:12 remaining and then hit a key jumper as the shot clock was expiring at 4:24.  Isaacs then scored nine of the final 10 points after going 6 of 6 at the charity stripe before again beating the shot clock with a 3-pointer with eight seconds left to complete the win to send out his seniors on a high in their final home game.

While Isaacs ran away with the vote, the next four spots were separated by just 31 votes. Women's volleyball player Tess DeJaeger (Norwalk, Conn./Brien McMahon) saw a late charge in website votes to finish in second place with 10.8 percent of the vote. DeJaeger's women's tennis teammate Anais Gill (Cambridge, England/Hills Road Sixth Form College) finished just nine votes behind DeJaeger in third place with 10.1 percent of the vote while women's basketball player Anise Williams (West Palm Beach, Fla./The Benjamin School) ended two votes shy of Gill in fourth place with 9.3 percent of the vote.

Julia Gazzola (Hagerstown, Md./North Hagerstown) of the women's lacrosse team finished fifth with 9.9 percent of the vote and eight votes behind Williams while men's tennis player Brian Kane (Philadelphia, Pa./Friends Select) also reached 100 votes and 12 votes shy of Gazzola with 8.2 percent of the vote. Rashaan Evans (Salisbury, Md./Parkside) (men's lacrosse), Halle Stewart (Chesapeake, Va./Indian River) (women's swimming), Jackson Penner (Newille, Pa./Big Spring) (men's swimming), Neli La Court Ruiz (York, Pa./Northeastern) (track and field), Mia Wiggins (San Diego, Calif./University City) (field hockey), Zach LaFaver (Hanover, Pa./South Western) (men's soccer), Lily Shafer (Lititz, Pa./Warwick) (women's soccer), Laila Hanson (Churchville, Md./ C. Milton Wright) (cross country) and Julian Gonzalez (Heredia, Costa Rica/Berkeley Academy) (men's golf) rounded out the 11-player field.

Congratulations to Cam Isaacs on his winning performance and all the sophomores for making us #GopherProud while you #GopherGreatness at Goucher College. We can't wait to see what you will do in your junior year!

Come back on Tuesday when we announce the Junior Performance of the Year.

Gopher Madness Highlights
October 29, 2019 Gopher Madness Highlights