Men's Tennis All-Decade Team Announced

Men's Tennis All-Decade Team Announced

BALTIMORE, Md. - After a week of online voting, Goucher Athletics has announced the Men's Tennis All-Decade Team. We would like to thank everyone that voted! Congratulations to the members of the 2010s Goucher College Men's Tennis All-Decade Team.

SINGLES: Slade Dumas, Midori Futjani, Jack Hodges, Seth Hoesman, Frankie Mullinix, Tetsuya Ota
DOUBLES: Michael Herman/Frankie Mullinix, Midori Fujtani/Jack Hodges, Seth Hoesman/David Spivey

To be eligible for the All-Decade Team, a student-athlete must have competed for at least one season between the 2010 and 2019 seasons. They also must be a graduate or still enrolled at Goucher College. In addition, only the statistics during the years of 2010 and 2019 are eligible so statistics that occur before the year 2010 or after the year 2019 do not count toward the All-Decade team vote.

We hope to see everyone back on Monday to vote for the Women's Tennis All-Decade team!

Dumas, who is slated to return for one more season in 2020-21, posted a 56-19 record in three seasons in the decade. The Great Falls, Va., native, went 22-2 in his sophomore season to notch the second-most singles wins in program history while he also registered a pair of 17 win seasons in his freshman and junior campaigns that ranks eighth in single season program history. Dumas posted 56 wins in three seasons to rank third in the decade for wins and has 59 in his career to sit four wins away from the all-time career program record. He racked up the accolades in his junior year after being named to the All-Landmark Conference second team for singles and doubles with teammate Omosesan Adebamgbe and the conference tournament Most Valuable Player. 

Fujtani, a Tokoyo, Japan, native, donned the Blue and Gold from 2013 to 2017. He posted a program-record 64 wins for his career for a 64-22 record and earned All-Landmark Conference second team honors in 2015 and 2016. Futjani recorded a 19-2 record in his junior campaign to notch the fifth-most wins in single-season history and tallied 15 wins in his other three seasons, which ranks in the Top-15 on the single-season charts. 

Hodges, a London, England, native, played on the men's tennis squad from 2014 to 2018. He finished his career with a 62-27 record to rank second to Futjani for career wins. He was named to the All-Landmark Conference first team in each of final three seasons and received conference Player of the Year recognition in his senior campaign. His 19 victories in his senior campaign is fifth-most on the single-season list while his 17 wins in his sophomore season is tied for eighth with Dumas.  

Hoesman, an Ellicott City, Md., native, played from 2012 to 2016 for the Gophers. Hoesman is the only player to earn all-conference recognition all four seasons with first-team honors in 2013, 2014 and 2016 while receiving a second-team nod in 2015. The 2013 Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year ended his career ranked third behind Futjani and Hodges with a career 61-25 record. He is one of four players in program history to reach 20 wins in a season with a program-record 22-2 record his senior campaign. 

Mullinix, a Washington, D.C., native, wrapped up his collegiate career in 2019-20.  He finished the decade with a 39-25 record and was named to the All-Landmark Conference second team in his freshman campaign for singles. Mullinix, who notched a pair of 14-win seasons in his first two campaigns, ended his career with 42 wins to rank ninth in program history. 

Ota, who hails from Tokyo, Japan and came to Goucher via Wesley Chapel, Fla., only spent the first two years of his career in the decade but was one of the best in those two seasons. Ota was named to the All-Landmark Conference first team in 2018 and 2019 for singles while receiving Rookie of the Year honors in 2018 and Player of the Year honors in 2019 as the Gophers top singles player. He posted a 32-14 record in the two seasons and an 18-7 mark as a freshman for the seventh-most victories in a single season. Ota, who was named to the All-Landmark Conference first team with Hodges for doubles as a freshman, finished his career 10th for career wins with 41. 


Mullinix and Herman, a Prague, Czech Republic, native, posted a 13-8 record in their one season together as a doubles team in 2017-18. Herman, who just like Mullinix finished his career last season, was named the Landmark Conference Co-Rookie of the Year in 2017 and earned second-team honors for singles. Mullinix ranks fourth In program history for career doubles wins with 52 while Herman is seventh with 44.

Fujtani and Hodges were a doubles teams for three seasons and posted a 39-14 record in their three seasons together. The tandem posted the fourth-most doubles wins in single-season program history with an 18-5 record in 2016 to earn All-Landmark Conference second-team honors and then garnered second-team recognition in 2017. Hodges and Futjani have the most team doubles wins in program history while Hodges holds the program record for career doubles wins with 64 and Futjani is sixth with 47 wins.  

Hoesman and Spivey, a Cockeysville, Md., native, earned All-Landmark Conference first-team doubles honors in both of their seasons together after posting an 18-14 mark from 2012 to 2014. Spivey donned the Blue and Gold from 2010 to 2014 and was selected to the All-Landmark Conference second team for singles in 2013 and 2014 and registered 26 wins in his career. Hoesman and Spivey were also named to the Landmark Conference All-Decade Team for 2007-16.

The Goucher men's tennis team has won four-straight Landmark Conference Tournament titles and appeared in the NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championships in 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019. The Gophers won their first round matchup in the national tournament in 2016, 2018 and 2019. Dumas (2017, 2018, 2019), Hodges (2016, 2017, 2018), Herman (2017, 2018, 2019) and Mullinix (2017, 2018, 2019) were a member of three championship teams while Fujtani (2016, 2017), Ota (2018, 2019) were apart of two titles and Hoesman (2016) helped the team to its first title.