Department's Top Award Goes to Senior Midfielder

Department's Top Award Goes to Senior Midfielder

TOWSON, Md. — A senior midfielder on the men's lacrosse team was presented with the Coaches Award this evening during Goucher College's annual Athletics Awards Ceremony in Kraushaar Auditorium.

Considered the highest award given out each year by the Athletics Department, the Coaches Award is given to the senior athlete that has most completely represented Goucher throughout his/her athletic career. Factors involved in the selection of the winner include accomplishments at his/her sports(s), including awards garnered for his/her athletic ability, and displayed leadership skills toward his/her teammates.

In a vote by the head coaches and full-time athletic administrators, Pierce Ingram (Austin, Texas/Westwood) was declared the winner of the Coaches Award for 2013-14.

Ingram earned first-team All-Landmark Conference honors for the second year in a row in 2013-14. He supplied the Gophers with 21 goals and seven assists this season.

The Neumann Award, which has been presented annually since 1973 to a well-rounded student-athlete who has evolved into an effective leader, outstanding citizen and distinguished athlete, went to Hannah Mae Brown (Pinedale, Wyo./Dunn School), a senior midfielder on the women's lacrosse team.

Joey Fink (Baltimore, Md./The Park School), a junior rider on the equestrian team, was the recipient of the Scholar-Athlete Award, given annually since 1923 to a member of the junior class who has maintained high standards of academic achievement and consistently demonstrated varied and admirable participation in athletics and extra-curricular activities.

Moriah Patashnik (Seattle, Wash./The Northwest School), a senior rider on the equestrian team, and Seth Hoesman (Ellicott City, Md./Howard), a sophomore on the men's tennis team, were named co-winners of the Ruth Baird Thompson '31 Award. The honor, first handed out in 2002, goes to students who have demonstrated academic excellence and sportsmanship in an athletic endeavor.

The Josephine E. Fiske Gopher Pride Award, which recognizes student-athletes in good academic standing who play important roles in the success of their teams, went to Megan Chalk (Severna Park, Md./Severna Park), a senior middle hitter on the volleyball team, and Morgan Richter (Cleburne, Texas/Cleburne), a sophomore on the men's swimming team.