Department's Top Award Goes to Senior Rider

Department's Top Award Goes to Senior Rider

TOWSON, Md. — A senior rider on the equestrian team who just days ago became the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association national champion in open equitation on the flat was presented with the Coaches Award this evening during Goucher College's annual Athletics Awards Ceremony in Kraushaar Auditorium.

Considered the highest individual award given out each year by the Intercollegiate Athletics Department, the Coaches Award is given to a senior athlete that has most completely represented Goucher throughout his/her athletic career. Factors involved in the selection of the winner include accomplishments at his/her sports(s), including awards garnered for his/her athletic ability, and displayed leadership skills toward his/her teammates.

In a vote by the head coaches and full-time athletic administrators, Joey Fink (Baltimore, Md./The Park School) was declared the unanimous winner of the Coaches Award for 2014-15.

In addition to his first-place performance in open flat at the IHSA National Horse Show on April 30, Fink repeated as the IHSA Zone IV Region I high point rider in 2014-15 and placed eighth overall in the Cacchione Cup competition which involves the nation's top collgiate riders.

The Neumann Award, which has been presented annually since 1973 to a well-rounded student-athlete who has evolved into an effective leader, outstanding citizen and distinguished athlete, went to Brandon Weiner (Derwood, Md./Col. Zadok A. Magruder), a senior defender on the men's soccer team.

Seth Hoesman (Ellicott City, Md./Howard), a junior on the men's tennis team, was the recipient of the Scholar-Athlete Award, given annually since 1923 to a member of the junior class who has maintained high standards of academic achievement and consistently demonstrated varied and admirable participation in athletics and extra-curricular activities.

Hannah Kuehl (Plymouth, N.H./Plymouth Regional), a junior middle hitter on the volleyball team, and Morgan Richter (Cleburne, Texas/Cleburne), a junior on the men's swimming team, were named co-winners of the Ruth Baird Thompson '31 Award. The honor, first handed out in 2002, goes to students who have demonstrated academic excellence and sportsmanship in an athletic endeavor.

The Josephine E. Fiske Gopher Pride Award, which recognizes student-athletes in good academic standing who play important roles in the success of their teams, went to Laura Malone (Weston, Mass./Weston), a senior on the equestrian team, and Colin Richter (Cleburne, Texas/Cleburne), a junior on the men's swimming team.