Department Reveals 2014-15 All-Goucher Team

Department Reveals 2014-15 All-Goucher Team

TOWSON, Md. — The 2014-15 All-Goucher Team was revealed at the conclusion of tonight’s Goucher Athletics Awards Ceremony, with 10 student-athletes and one coach honored on the Kraushaar Auditorium stage.

The full list of honorees is available below. The All-Goucher Team – now in its fifth year of existence – is chosen by a panel of head coaches and athletic administrators, and represents the 10 most distinguished student-athletes along with most outstanding coach during an academic year. From the voting by members of the panel comes a first team and a second team, along with the team’s captain, who was the top vote-getter.




Jojo Franklin | Women’s Lacrosse | Second Team

Franklin became the first Goucher women’s lacrosse player to earn Rookie of the Year recognition during the Landmark era, and she also was a First Team All-Landmark performer during her freshman season for the Gophers. She led the team and was ranked third in the conference with 49 draw controls, and she was second on the team in goals (29), assists (19), points (48) and ground balls (42). Franklin was named Landmark Athlete of the Week on two separate occasions (March 9, March 23).

Seth Hoesman | Men’s Tennis | Second Team

Hoesman was named First Team All-Landmark in doubles for a third time in as many seasons, and he also landed on the second team for singles. The junior co-captain won 16 of 19 dual doubles matches, all coming from the No. 1 position, and he went 14-6 in singles, including a 5-1 mark at No. 1 and a 6-2 record in conference matches. Hoesman was honored as the Landmark Athlete of the Week twice this year, giving him four weekly awards for his Gopher career.

Sarah Lummis | Equestrian | Second Team

Lummis was the reserve champion in walk-trot-canter at the IHSA National Horse Show team competition. That performance contributed five of the eight points towards Goucher’s final team score, helping the Gophers finish seventh overall in their fifth appearance at nationals. Lummis’ first place finish in walk-trot-canter at the Zone IV championships played a key role in the Gophers winning that show, and she placed in the top three at every tournament she competed in this year.

Laura Malone | Equestrian | Second Team

Malone took first place in the intermediate flat individual competition at this year’s Zone IV Championships, advancing her to IHSA nationals. She was also the Zone IV Region I champion in the event earlier in March, and she was a two-time reserve high point rider during regular season IHSA competitions.

Colin Richter | Men’s Swimming | Second Team

Richter set school records and finished as the Landmark runner-up in both the 200-yard individual medley and the 200 backstroke. In each event, only eventual NCAA All-American Kevin Lindgren registered a faster time. Richter also established a new program mark in the 100 backstroke, and he was part of four record-breaking relay teams, two of which placed second at the Landmark Championships. Richter’s efforts led to two Landmark Athlete of the Week awards.

Joey Caracappa | Men’s Tennis | First Team

Caracappa earned First Team All-Landmark recognition in both singles and doubles, helping Goucher qualify for the Landmark playoffs for the first time. He won 12 of 16 dual singles matches, all from the top three positions in the lineup, and he went 6-1 during the conference regular season. In doubles, Caracappa and Seth Hoesman went 16-3 from the top spot, ending their year with a victory over Juniata in the Landmark championship match.

Sam Davis | Men’s Swimming | First Team

Davis was crowned Landmark champion in both the 50 and 100 freestyle at this year’s conference meet, lowering his own school records in each event and posting a D3B time in the 50 free. The senior captain also swam the anchor leg for Goucher’s runner-up foursomes in the 200 medley and 400 free relays, and he contributed to additional school records in the 200 free and 400 medley relay races.

Morgan Richter | Men’s Swimming | First Team

Richter continued to establish himself as the most decorated men’s swimmer in Goucher history, winning Landmark championships in all three of his individual races at this year’s Landmark Championships. He took first place in the 500 free, 100 butterfly and 200 fly in February, registering a D3B time in the 200 fly. Richter now has six Landmark titles in his first three years as a Gopher, which is the most in program history, and he was a part of four record breaking relay teams.

Brandon Weiner | Men’s Soccer | First Team

Weiner was honored as a First Team All-Landmark performer for his work on Goucher’s backline this fall. In addition to his defensive prowess, he was tied for the team lead in goals (3), and he ranked second in assists (2) and points (8). His tying goal late in the second half against Susquehanna on November 1 secured the program’s first Landmark playoff berth, and it helped him earn Landmark Athlete of the Week recognition as well.

Joey Fink | Equestrian | First Team Captain

Fink closed out an outstanding collegiate career with a national championship in open flat at the IHSA National Horse Show individual competition. He became the second national champion in program history. Fink also placed fourth in open flat in the team competition at nationals, and he finished eighth in the prestigious Cacchione Cup. The senior co-captain was the Zone IV Region I high point rider, and he was additionally the Zone IV reserve champion in open flat.

Jen Bunty | Equestrian | Coach of the Year

Bunty has now guided the equestrian program to IHSA National Horse Show appearances in each of her first two seasons as head coach. Goucher placed seventh at this year’s national event, securing the third-best finish in the team’s storied history. The riding team also won its third Zone IV championship in program history and its fourth-consecutive regional title.