Four From Goucher Land On 2016 All-Landmark Team

Four From Goucher Land On 2016 All-Landmark Team

TOWSON, Md. — Goucher placed a senior defender, a sophomore midfielder, a sophomore attacker and a sophomore goalie on the 2016 All-Landmark Conference Women's Lacrosse Team. For the senior, it was the third time she was the recipient of All-Landmark honors during her career; two of the sophomores were all-conference selections for the second year in a row.

As revealed today, the team includes 26 student-athletes representing all seven women's lacrosse programs which compete in the Landmark Conference. Position-by-position voting was done by the head coaches and the balloting produced a first team that included four attackers, five midfielders, three defenders and a goalie, as well as a second team made up of 13 additional players.

Kat Carnevale (Portland, Ore./St. Mary's Academy) made her third appearance on the All-Landmark squad, earning a spot on the first team for the second year in a row after debuting on the second team in 2014. The senior defender, who started every game during her four seasons with the Gophers, ranked second on the team with 18 draw controls and third in ground balls (31) and caused turnovers (25) in 2016.

Jojo Franklin (Denver, Colo./Kent Denver School) was a first-team All-Landmark midfielder for the second consecutive year. Her 38 goals this season were the most by any player on head coach Ceri Miller's squad, plus she led the team in ground balls (33), draw controls (48) and caused turnovers (37).

Goucher had the only two players who repeated as first-team All-Landmark selections in 2016.

The two players who represented Goucher on the All-Landmark second team were attacker Jessica Borucki (Westminster, Md./North Carroll) and goalie Bridget Den Boer (Sparta, N.J./Sparta).

Borucki, a repeat second-team selection, supplied the Gophers with 33 goals and 17 assists in 2016 for a team-leading total of 50 points. Den Boer achieved the lowest goals-against average (8.21) in the Landmark Conference.

For more on the 2016 All-Landmark Conference Women's LacrosseTeam, click HERE.