Goucher Athletics Announces Ruth Baird Thompson '31 Female Award Winner

Goucher Athletics Announces Ruth Baird Thompson '31 Female Award Winner

BALTIMORE, Md. – Gracie LeFevre (Glenwood, Md./Glenelg), a member of the Goucher College women's soccer team, has been named the Ruth Baird Thompson '31 Female Award winner. This is the second-straight year LeFevre has taken home a departmental award after being named the Scholar Award winner last year.

The Ruth Baird Thompson '31 Award was established in 2002 and presented annually to one or more students who have demonstrated academic excellence and sportsmanship in an athletic endeavor, through their participation in Goucher's sports, dance and/or equestrian programs.

"Congratulations to Gracie for receiving the Ruth Baird Thompson Award," said head coach Stephanie Ricketts. "She is kind, compassionate, and a great leader that every member of our team feels comfortable talking to and definitely deserves this award."

An economics and French double major, LeFevre boasts a very high grade-point average and was named to the Landmark Conference All-Academic team all three years eligible. This year on the field, she started all 18 games and registered the game-winning assist in overtime in the season-opening 1-0 victory against Gwynedd Mercy on August 30.

"I would like to thank my teammates," said LeFevre. "I honestly do not know where I would be without them. They push me to be a better teammate, a better player, a better leader and a better person. They challenge me on and off the field and honestly this award is just as much theirs as it is mine.

For her career, LeFevre appeared in 63 games including 39 starts with four goals and three assists for 11 points. As a sophomore, she was named to the All-Landmark Conference second team, to the NCAA Division III All-Region team and the NCAA All-South Region Scholar-Athlete second team

Along with LerFevre, Adeline Calihan (Keane, N.H./Making Community Connections Charter) (equestrian), Camilla Civiello (North Yarmouth, Maine/Greely) (women's swimming) and Madi Resolme (San Diego, Calif./Del Norte) (field hockey) were also nominated.