Bercovici Chosen as Landmark's Player of the Year

Bercovici Chosen as Landmark's Player of the Year

TOWSON, Md. — In six Landmark Conference matches this season, no opponent was able to take a single set off of Goucher's Amanda Bercovici (Hackensack, N.J./Bergen Tech), and the conference's head coaches rewarded that dominance this morning by selecting her as the Landmark Player of the Year.

Bercovici also earned First Team All-Landmark singles recognition, while she and Alex Walsh (Greens Farm, Conn./Staples) were named First Team All-Landmark for doubles.

Of her 12 victorious sets in Landmark competition for Bercovici, five were 6-0 shutouts. For the year, she finished 21-4 in singles across all competitions, with all four defeats coming to players who have been ranked in the Atlantic South region by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. Bercovici is currently ranked 20th in the Atlantic South for singles. In dual matches, she was 16-3 while playing exclusively from the No. 1 position.

"The biggest thing for me was how she continued to improve as the season progressed," head coach Sally Baum said. "Her fitness got much better, and she stayed strong while playing against a lot of good No. 1's from other teams. She gave us everything we could ask for from the top of the lineup."

Bercovici becomes the third women's tennis player at Goucher to earn Player of the Year accolades. She joins Ariel Lin, who was voted as the Landmark's top player in 2013, and Yumi Mitarai, who was co-Player of the Year of the Capital Athletic Conference back in 1994.

On the doubles side, Bercovici and Walsh swept through Landmark competition while completing the season with a 12-3 mark overall from Goucher's top spot in the lineup. The duo won eight of their last nine matches on the season. Walsh earns doubles recognition for the first time in her career after being named Second Team All-Landmark for singles as a sophomore.

"They didn't play together back in the fall, so they had to make a few adjustments early on," Baum said. "But they really hit their stride at our Spring Break trip down in Hilton Head, and they played really well for the rest of the season after that."

Moravian took home the other two major Landmark awards. Brittney Eady was recognized as the conference's Rookie of the Year, while Dawn Ketterman-Benner, who is retiring after 43 years at the school, earned Coach of the Year accolades.