Goucher Women's Tennis Downs Bryn Mawr, 7-2

Goucher Women's Tennis Downs Bryn Mawr, 7-2

BALTIMORE, Md. – Tes DeJaeger (Norwalk, Conn./Brien McMahon), Kyoko Kinoshita (Tokyo, Japan/Tilton School [N.H.]) and Mandile Mpofu (Harare, Zimbabwe/Arundel School) each won two matches to lead Goucher College past Bryn Mawr College 7-2 in non-conference women's tennis action on Thursday.

DeJaeger and Kinoshita teamed up at No. 2 doubles to earn an 8-6 victory to help the Gophers sweep doubles play. DeJaeger then won at No. 3 singles 6-4, 6-1 and Kinoshita took her No. 4 singles match 6-4, 6-1. Mpofu and Anais Gill (Cambridge, England/Hills Road Sixth Form College) earned an 8-2 win at No. 1 doubles before Mpofu took a 6-1, 6-0 decision at No. 2 singles.

Meera Balasubramanian (Bel Air, Md./Oldfields School) and Morgan Hartman (Woodstock, Vt./Woodstock Union) won 8-6 at No. 3 doubles and Sara Healy (Waterford, Va./Woodgrove) earned a 6-2, 6-1 victory at No. 6 singles.

Gill lost 7-6 (7-4), 6-3 at No. 1 singles and Hartman dropped a 7-5, 6-1 match at No. 5 singles.

Goucher returns to action on Saturday when the team opens up Landmark Conference play at home against Drew. Match time is 1 p.m. 

1. (GC) Anais Gill/Mandile Mpofu defeats (BM) Amalia Parrish/Caroline Horvatits, 8-2
2. (GC) Tes DeJaeger/Kyoko Kinoshita defeats (BM) Libby Hemp/Francesca Caramazza, 8-6
3. (GC) Meera Balasubramanian/Morgan Hartman defeats (BM) Mariana Garcia/Christina Xue, 8-6 

1. (BM) Amalia Parrish defeats (GC) Anais Gill, 7-6 (7-4), 6-3
2.(GC) Mandile Mpofu defeats (BM) Caroline Horvatits, 6-1, 6-0
3. (GC) Tes DeJaeger defeats (BM) Christina Xue, 6-4, 6-1
4. (GC) Kyoko Kinoshita defeats (BM) Francesca Caramazza, 6-2, 6-2
5. (BM) Libby Hemp defeats (GC) Morgan Hartman, 7-5, 6-1
6. (GC) Sara Healy defeats (BM) Mariana Garcia, 6-2, 6-1